On Writing: Authenticity & Voice

Hello everyone! I’m doing my second “On Writing” post where I post a quote on reading/writing and discuss how the quote can make you (and me!) a better writer.

Today’s quote is from the reclusive genius, J. D. Salinger. Say what you will about The Catcher in the Rye, I like it. And this quote perfectly summarizes why.

on writing_ writign quotes_ J D Salinger_ Catcher in the rye

When I finished it, I did feel like I could just call up the author (though, knowing Salinger’s reputation, he would’ve freaked out, understandably). I liked it because the main character, Holden Caulfield, while a tad over emotional, felt real. Salinger has a STRONG voice which made it seem authentic. I think it’s one of the reasons his writing career was so successful. This quote puts “voice” and “authenticity” on an understandable level. Instead of saying, “have a strong voice and be authentic,” say, “write like a real person, like someone your reader wants to call up on the phone.”

What do you think of this quote? Are there other quotes that get this point across?

This entry was posted in On Writing and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

